High Speed Rail

Who We Are

California Law AB 3034 established a Peer Review Group whose duty is to evaluate the California High Speed Rail Authority's funding plans and prepare its independent judgment as to the feasibility and the reasonableness of the Authority's plans, appropriateness of assumptions, analyses and estimates, and any observations or evaluations the Group deems necessary.

The Group was established with provision for up to eight members. As of September, 2015, there are four members, including: Martin Wachs (appointed by the State Treasurer); Gary Gallegos (appointed by the State Controller); Stacey Mortensen (Appointed by the Secretary of Business, Transportation and Housing); and, Lou Thompson (appointed by the Secretary of Business, Transportation and Housing).

Lou Thompson has served as Chairman since March 1, 2013.